KACRAO Scholarship

Glenn Lygrisse/KACRAO Scholarship

The Kansas Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (KACRAO) offers scholarships to reward students who have demonstrated quality leadership during their high school years. There are four $500 awards available each academic year, which may be used at KACRAO member institutions. The scholarships will be designated as follows; one per school type: four-year public, four-year private, community college, and technical college. The awards are not need-based and may be used in conjunction with other awards.

Watch an interview with Glenn Lyrgrisse

To be eligible for consideration for these scholarships, students must:

  • Be in their senior year at a Kansas high school;
  • Have a cumulative seventh semester GPA of at least 3.25 on a 4.0 scale;

Students will be required to submit three documents with their application. If they do not have the ability to upload the required documents, please email the documents to: [email protected] by March 15, 2019.

Apply now!  The Application Deadline is March 15, 2019.

Contact the KACRAO Scholarship Committee Chair at: [email protected] if you have questions.

2018 Glynn Lygrisse KACRAO Scholarship Winners:

Community College
Jonathan Chao, Blue Valley West High School

Johnson County Community College
Jonathan is described by his high school teacher as generous, focused, and dedicated. The committee was inspired by his description of his life changing experience in the summer of 2017 when he was chosen to participate in a volunteer program called A.I.D. Summer. For two weeks he taught English to students in Taiwan and learned a lot about himself as well as the challenges of teaching. In addition to Chinese, Jonathan also speaks English and Spanish. He is a member of National Honor Society and has been on the Principal’s Honor Roll each year.

Public Four Year
Lilian (Lily) Gray, Olathe South High School  
Kansas State University

Lily’s Gifted Teacher describes her as “accomplished, insightful, [and] multifaceted”. She states that Lily is “an impressive young woman and future scientist” who “maintained a 5.0 weighted GPA”, while being very involved in anti-bullying, suicide awareness, and other groups. Lily started a community service club at her high school called Puppet People, an anti-bullying club geared toward elementary school
children. Lily modeled Puppet People after the Bystanders Rising Against Violence Everywhere (BRAVE), of which she is president. BRAVE performs for middle school students. Lily’s honors include: AP Scholar with Honor, President’s Award for Academic Excellence, Kansas Honor Scholar, ACT Scholar, and Kansas Governor’s Scholar. She was Captain of the Scholar’s Bowl, a member of the German Club, and National Honor Society. She also has a math tutoring service.

Monica Moser, Wabunsee High School
Benedictine College

Monica’s passion has always been helping people. In the future, she would like to be a missionary and volunteer so she can “go places and make a difference” in people’s lives. She was ranked number one in her class all four years of high school. Monica was asked to help tutor
a single student in Math, but she took that opportunity much further by starting a new peer tutor organization at her school to help
students in Math, Science, and English. She named the group Charger PEP (Peer Educator Program). Monica also participated in Cross-
Country, Track and Field, 4-H, Scholars’ Bowl, SKILLS USA, Concert Band, Concert Choir, Pep Bend, National Honor Society, and KAY
(Kansas Association for Youth). Her high school counselor states that her character traits include “dedication, achievement,
Leadership and supportiveness”.

Technical College

Emilee Whelchel, Rock Hills High School
Salina Area Technical College
While in high school Emilee was involved in many different activities including 3 sports; serving as volleyball and Basketball team captain both Junior and Senior year. Emilee has also been active in many community service projects, the Kansas FFA, and Future Business Leaders of America holding various leadership positions, attending the state competitions and leadership conferences. Senior year her team went to the National level competition. Emilee is described by her Business/FACS teacher as an all- around outstanding young woman with good moral character and a solid head on her shoulders; she will be a wonderful dental assistant because of her caring, calm manner.


2018-2019 Scholarship Chair:

Ramah Nation, Friends University

[email protected]